The Middle Path to the Airport

As we all know packing for a long trip is one of the biggest clothing-related struggles in a person’s life. After the suitcase is zipped, however, people often neglect an important part of the travel: they don’t really truly consider what they are going to wear to the airport. It seems like a silly think to think about before embarking on what will hopefully be an adventure, but you and that outfit are going to be spending a lot of time together. I know people tend to be in the mindset that if they dress like they do when they sleep then maybe they’ll actually be able to do it on the flight. But let’s be real folks: there is never as much sleep happening on planes as we want. You’re gonna feel disgusting after sitting for 8 hours. That’s inevitable, but I feel slightly better when I finally disembark when I don’t feel like I look like an absolute slob.

As a college student I am certainly familiar with the comfort factor. (I live in a dorm room—I get the whole sweats thing.) When traveling, however, I try to keep the pajamas in my luggage. When I look sluggish I feel sluggish as well and I don’t know about you, but airports are not always the most relaxing of places. If you have a connecting flight there’s generally some running around and who really wants to be the kid sprinting through the Frankfurt airport in a Juicy sweat suit? No one likes that kid, and wants to make space on the moving walkway for them either.

Comfort being the sole focus has the irksome effect of causing generally stylish people (or even general members of the population) to dress like they are in the midst of finals week and have a Geology exam in the 3 hours. The international terminal causes people to forget about the fact that there are other humans at the airport and focus solely on the comfort factor. Airports are a place to people watch, so this practice is particularly annoying here. I can only take so many worn-out yoga pants and U of I sweatshirts before even humanity starts to hold less interest. I understand that the airport is not New York fashion week, and I, too, laugh at the lady who is just clearly trying way too hard as she teeters around in stilettos. Really, you don’t need to look that fancy.

This brings us to my attempt at the airport-outfit balancing act. On a recent flight back from Berlin (with a little bit of a jog through Frankfurt airport, and by jog I do mean panicked sprint) I opted for this:

The jeans are loose fitting so I could curl up like a little fetus in my seat and (attempt) to sleep. The jacket is also one of my favorite things in the world. I like to call it a tailored sweatshirt jacket, as it is made of sweatshirt material nut is but like a jacket. Comfy and put-together! I call that a definite win-win. I recently re-discovered it coming back from school and re-fell in love with it.

As far as shoes goes the practicality of the platform sandals is not immediately apparent. However, I always find myself in a bit of a crunch as far as space for packing is concerned (this fact should surprise no one), so I always have to wear the shoes that will take up the most space. In this case it was these beauties I got for 15 Euro on sale at Promod. (They were the last ones left, and in that moment I gave a little ‘thank you’ to genetics for cursing me with absurdly massive feet.) Luckily these clunkers are actually easy to walk in, so dragging along my suitcase was not made particularly more arduous by my choice of footwear. The rubber soles also meant that they had decent traction, which is a definite plus. After all, wiping out on a moving walkway is worse than wearing a velour track suit on one.

Top: Roxy, Jacket: Nolli, Jeans Mango,  Shoes: Promod, Cuff: Some Italian leather store in Florence

2 thoughts on “The Middle Path to the Airport

Leave a Reply

