A Girl Who Wears Sneaker Wedges

My sister and I did far too much shopping this summer. It was July. I was in Europe and there were sales. The amount of damage I did to my bank account balance is really not my fault. There’s no better way to take in a city than to wander around the streets o and pop into any store that looks remotely interesting. It was in Amsterdam, therefore, in a store called Supertrash I had never heard of that I found sneaker wedges. Not just any sneaker wedges, though. Ones with cut outs. 80% off sneaker wedges (again it’s the big foot advantage). It had to be too good to be true. So of course, I started to overthink the shoes. Sneaker wedges? Really? Could I pull them off? People who wear sneaker wedges are cool. Not only were they cool, but they’re a specific type of cool person. A glamorous person. A girl who wears sneaker wedges has interesting places to go and people they need to impress when they get there (but they do need to get there, hence the sneaker). She has to be both practical and fabulous, cause she’s doing things but looking great while doing them. Was I that person? Could I even fake being that person?

These shoes weren’t me. They by no means fit in with my general aesthetic. I tend to dress vintage and cutesy, not hyper trendy. Yes, I have to get from point A to point B, so I guess my life necessitates the sneakers, but I don’t necessarily go interesting enough places or live a glamorous enough existence to demand any type of heel whatsoever.

Despite my hesitations, I walked around the store a bit with them on, and checked myself out in the mirror. Over the course of my stroll, I came to a realization, a fashion Ah-ha moment if you will: wearing the sneaker wedges made me feel like a person who wears sneaker wedges.  Even if I wasn’t cool or glamorous and my shit was by no means really together, I felt like it looked like it. That slight amount of suede encasing my foot and the bit of rubber under my heel just made me feel cool. The way the little lift of my foot made walk put some swing in my hips. I liked the person I saw in the mirror. She looked glamorous. She looked cool. She looked like maybe her shit was pretty much together.

Maybe me wearing sneaker wedges is somewhat disingenuous. I always say fashion is an argument, and maybe the argument I’m making by wearing sneaker wedges is totally false. But maybe I’m ok with it. Yeah my outfit might not be particularly true to my life, but I enjoyed the ‘me’ that I felt like I was wearing it. What you wear can argue who you are, but it can also shape the way you feel, which in some ways changes who you are. Maybe I’m not actually cool enough to wear a crop top and rock the whole sweat pants look. But I like the way I feel when I try to, and I think fashion is about expressing who you are, but also who you want to be.

Sneaker Wedges: Supertrash, Top: Akira Chicago, Pants: Nina Kendosa Paris

PhotoCred: My lovely roomie Meredith Edwards

Leave a Reply

